Live Locally, Grow Globally

Global Affairs

Visits from Overseas (2017-2018 academic year)

Osaka University receives visits from important officials from around the world. The President and/or OU trustees receive these visitors and discuss a wide variety of topics. While some of these visits might be termed courtesy calls, the majority are for the purpose of increasing international exchange between the university or institution represented and Osaka University.

Please find below a listing of recent visitors and a photograph from their visit.

Note: A larger version of each photo can be viewed by clicking directly on the image.

2018

20180330_Ministry of Research and Innovation Lumania

Friday, March 30, Viorel VulturescuNational Authority for Scientific Research and Innovation/Director of International Relations Directorate, Romania

20180329_U of Nigeria

2018

20180326_Hefei Univ_01

Thursday, March 29, Prof. Benjamin Chukwuma Ozumba, Chancellor, University of Nigera
Monday, March 26 ~ Tuesday, March 27, Prof. YUAN Zihuang, Director of the Council, Hefei University of Technology, China

20180326_Ruhr-Univ Bochum

2018

20180323_DAAD

Monday, March 26, Prof. Axel Schölmerichm, Rector, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Friday, March 23, Ulrich Grothus, Deputy Secretary General, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Germany

20180316_Embassy of India

2018

20180306_UK

Friday, March 16, Purnima Rupal, Counsellor (Science & Technology), Embassy of India to Japan
Thursday, March 8, Sarah Wooten, HM Consul-General, British Consulate-General Osaka

20180206_phillipines

2018

20180118_Denmark

Tuesday, January 30, Very Rev. Fr. Herminio Dagohoy, Ph.D., Rector, University of Santo Tomas, Philippines
Thursday, January 18, Soren Stjernqvist, CEO, Danish Technological Institute, Denmark

2017

20171221_pakistan1

Tuesday, December 19, Students from the United States and Osaka University participating in the Kakehashi Project Wednesday, December 21, Dr. Asad Majeed Khan, Ambassador of Pakistan to Japan

20171129_mexico

2017

20171128_china1

Wednesday, November 29, Prof. Jaime Bonilla Rios, Associate Dean, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education, Mexico Tuesday, November 28, Japan-China Education Exchange Association

20171129_isreal

2017

20171126_china

Monday, November 27, Prof. Asher Cohen, President, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel Sunday, November 26, Lin Huiqing, Vice Minister of Education, Ministry of Education, China

20171113_hongkong

2017

Monday, November 13, Prof. Yangsheng XU, President, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen
Wednesday, November 29, 21st Visit-Japan Project for Chinese Students

20171023_SanFransisco

2017

20171023_Sunyatsen

Monday, October 23, Allen Okamoto, Kathleen Kimura, and Emily Murase, San Francisco-Osaka Sister City Association, USA
Monday, October 23, Prof. Zhijiang Wei, Executive Dean, Sun Yat-Sen University, China

20171013_lithoania

2017

20171004_Groningen02

Friday, October 13, Aurelijus Veryga, Minister of Health of the Republic of Lithuania Wednesday, October 4, Prof. Dr. Elmer Sterken, Rector Magnificus, and Prof. Dr. Ronald Stolk, Director of Center for Information Technology, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

20171004_UCL

2017

20171003_bonn

Wednesday, October 4, Prof. Michael Arthur, President & Provost, University College London Tuesday, October 3, Prof. Michael Hoch, Rector, Universität Bonn, Germany

2017

20170922_RUB

Tuesday, October 3, Tran Quoc Khanh, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology, Vietnam Friday, September 22, Prof. Uta Hohn, Vice Rector, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

20170915_UCSD_03

2017

20170915_britain_01

Friday, September 15, Michelle L. Hermas, Director of International Affairs, University of California, San Diego
Friday, September 15, Griff Jones, senior official, British Embassy, Tokyo

20170914_Denmark_02

2017

20170908_Indonesia_01

Thursday, September 14, Thyra Rasmussen, Minister for Elder Affairs, Denmark
Friday, September 8, Muhammad Asvial, Vice Dean for Academic, Research and Student Affairs, School of Engineering, Universitas Indonesia

2017

2017_Romania_01

Tuesday, July 18, Sakura Science Plan students from China
Tuesday, July 18, Tatiana Iosiper, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Romania to Japan, and Edward Iosiper, Minister Plenipotentiary of Romania to Japan

20170713_Bielefeld_03

2017

20170706_Dailen_01

Thursday, July 13, Gerhard Sagerer, Rector, Bielefeld University, Germany

Thursday, July 6, Guo Dongming, Dalian University of Technology, China

20170629_airlangga_01

2017

20170620_Lithoania_01

Thursday, June 29, Mohammad Nasih, Rector, Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia

Tuesday, June 20, Egidijus Meilūnas, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Lithuania to Japan

20170616_Southeast_01

2017

20170608_VNU_01

Friday, June 16, Dawei Huang, Vice President, Southeast University, China

Thursday, June 8, Nguyen Kim Son (President, Vietnam National University, Hanoi) and Nguyen Hoang Oanh (Vice Rector, Vietnam Japan University), Vietnam

2017

20170606_monach_01

Wednesday, June 7, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Pornapit Darasawang, Vice President for Internationalization, King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi, Thailand
Tuesday, June 6, Prof. Steven J. Langford, Associate Dean International, School of Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

20170522_Taiwan_01

2017

20170519_saclay_01

Monday, May 22, Wang Jien-ping, Deputy Chief , Department of Investment Services, Ministry of Economic Affairs, Taiwan

Friday, May 19, Gilles Bloch, President, Université Paris-Saclay, France

20170519_Manchester_01

2017

20170515_Smatra_01

Friday, May 19, Prof. Stephen Flint, Associate Vice-President, University of Manchester, UK

Monday, May 15, Ofyar Z. Tamin (Rector) and Mitra Djamal (Vice Rector), Institut Teknologi Sumatera, Indonesia

2017_Southampton_01

2017

20170412_de la salle_01

Monday, April 24, Prof. Peter Smith, Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Southampton, UK

Wednesday, April 12, Laurene Chua-Garcia, Vice President, De La Salle University, The Philippines

20170411_Tours_01

2017

20170410_HongKong_01

Tuesday, April 11, Marc Desmet (Vice President, Université de Tours) and Emmanuel Aubin (Vice President, Université de Poitiers), France

Monday, April 10, Tony F. Chan, President, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Note: For information and photos of OU trustees, go here.

Back to top