Live Locally, Grow Globally

What's NEW

News & Topics

Osaka University Leaders Forum


The Office for University-Industry Collaboration and the Osaka University Funds jointly held a Osaka University Leaders Forum at the Osaka University Hall on Wednesday, February 12. Leaders Forums have been held since 2013 in order to inform business owners who graduated from Osaka University and Osaka University of Foreign Studies of the current situation at the university and facilitate exchange among alumni, faculty, staff members, and current students. Some 120 persons participated in this 3-part forum.

In the 1st Part of the program, President Toshio HIRANO and Trustee BABA respectively introduced "Osaka University's strategic plan as a Global University, the 'World Tekijuku'" and "Osaka University's University-Industry-Government Collaboration Plans."

Following their introduction, in the 2nd Part of the program, the audience eagerly listened to talks by three guests: President Yoshihisa AONO of Cybozu, Ltd., who spoke on "Personnel system and diverse ways of working at Cybozu"; Minoru ASADA, Professor of Graduate School of Engineering, who spoke on "Osaka-born Cognitive Neuroscience Robotics leads the World"; and President Kunio NOJI of Komatsu Ltd., who spoke on "Manufacturing at Komatsu."

The 3rd Part consisted of a social hour which opened with greetings from Shigeyuki EBISU, Trustee & Vice President. His greetings were followed by a toast by President Machiko NAMBU of Kobe Concerto Cruising Company. The get-together was very productive with participants exchanging business cards and deepening their friendships.

Participants endorsed the goal of Osaka University's becoming one of the world's top ten comprehensive research universities by 2031, the 100th anniversary of the university's founding. Osaka University is going to hold various future events, including additional leaders forums, so that Osaka University-related persons can deepen exchange with one another.

To view a video of President Hirano's speech, click here. 

President Aono
President Noji
President Nambu

Back to top