Live Locally, Grow Globally

What's NEW

News & Topics

Seven Universities Meet starts


On Saturday, July 6, the opening ceremony for the 52nd Seven Universities Meet (commonly referred to as "Nanadai-sen" in Japanese) was held at the Auditorium in Osaka University Hall. This year's meet is being hosted by Osaka University and actually started with ice hockey last year in December.

In the opening ceremony, the presidents, trustees, steering committee members, and other people associated with the meet from the former imperial universities --Hokkaido University, Tohoku University, The University of Toyko, Nagoya University, Kyoto University, Osaka University, and Kyushu University-- pledged they would do their best.

Osaka University won the 49th and 50th Seven Universities Meets (victories by a visiting university that are referred to as "whipping the host"). However, last year, in the 51st meet, Osaka University came in second, just missing out on making it 3 in a row.

In the reception following the ceremony, President Toshio HIRANO gave a pep talk to OU athletes, saying, "As the host, we must win this year's Meet. The playing field on the Suita campus was resurfaced with artificial turf for this Meet, so do your best and bring home the victory!"

To read a copy of President Hirano's speech, go here.

YOKOYAMA Komei, a member of the Lacrosse team, pledges fair play.

708委員長井上くん   708副委員長阪本くん
INOUE Shinya, Meet Chair (left) and SAKASHITA Leo, Committee Chair

President Hirano


Taiko-kun, the mascot for the 52nd Seven Universities Meet 

"Nanadai-sen" website

Back to top